Happiness

Week 5 –

This week we discussed random acts of kindness and how it benefits both parties. I started thinking about simple things I’ve been applying to my everyday happiness journey that implement my happiness. I began with things such as smiling at strangers, and holding doors opened. picking something up for someone who had dropped it on the floor, but as our discussion got deeper I started to realize that in fact I could do so much more.

In 2014 I decided to follow the footsteps of my older, graduated friend and travel. I was going to quit my job and I deferred university to travel with her through North and South America for almost an entire year. Few months  prior to our departure Vanessa and I had a falling out and our trip was put on hold, however, I had already made the decision of leaving both university and my job and those were two things I couldn’t go back on. I decided to tackle this adventure on my own and go regardless.

Looking back now, I started to realize that it was by arriving in a new, unknown country on my own that peoples random acts of kindness really meant to me. It wasn’t those who smiled at me or who picked up the pen I dropped on the plane that I remember (don’t get me wrong, they were also great!), but it was those special people who pushed and made that extra random act of kindness count, like approaching me and making a conversation, asking me how I was and if I needed anything, all I needed a friend.

This week specially has touched me and taught me that I can be that someone for someone else, I’ve started sitting next to other people in my tutorials that often don’t speak up much or don’t make much eye contact and I’ve started making more friends than I thought possible. I’ve really putting myself out there and I can proudly say I’ve loving it and I hope that maybe just for a little bit I am that person for them who makes a difference like someone was for me a few years ago.

Leave a Reply

